Snippet Sunday 2/2/14

The Moore woman are having their last Christmas dinner together. I’m hoping to open the story up with this scene. I like the setting and the tension it shows from the beginning between Nancy and her mother. The story line will develop to show real tension between the mother and daughter. Stay tuned for more…Why “Moore?”

The apple pie was still baking away in the oven. Martha baked apple pies at every Moore’s holiday; something that she had done really well in her life. The rest of her life seemed to be grimly eroding away into a lonely existence.

The aroma of the pie was pushing its way through the bottom floor and surely moving up into the second and third floors. Like all the other smells that have covered this house, the apple smell seemed to last till a new one took over.

     Just trying to get the words out of my mouth, I muttered “Mother, the peas please. You know how I hate to reach across the table to get them. Will you just pass them to me?”  I knew what happened years ago when I would reach across the table for food. 

Stay tune next week when you’ll here the crazy dental receptionist say; “Hey, let me pull a tooth!”

Peace Out

16 thoughts on “Snippet Sunday 2/2/14

  1. My first snippet of this story… I’m really curious about the mother-daughter relationship – I think you did a great job of capturing the particular tension from Nancy’s POV. 🙂

  2. “The aroma of the pie was pushing its way through the bottom floor and surely moving up into the second and third floors. Like all the other smells that have covered this house, the apple smell seemed to last till a new one took over.”

    I love this paragraph—it’s perfect in itself, but also seems to reflect the way Nancy’s memories and feelings (and pain) are lingering as well.

    Very, very nice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

