Snippet Sunday 1/19/14

One of the scenes I’m going to use somewhere in my WIP is a funeral scene with one of the main protagonist, Susan. Enjoy from “The Distorted Trail.”

I was standing next to my sister, both of us looking down at my mothers body, as it lay in the casket. My sister asked, “Did you love her Susan?”

It was hard for me to respond truthfully, but I tried to answer as truthfully as I could. “I didn’t love her, I tolerated her. I wish, well no I really don’t wish you knew all the things that mother put me through. And of all times to discuss our problems, this is not the right time.”

She was quick to respond, “Perhaps not Susan. I just have wondered over and over how you and mother could have had such a distant relationship. It seemed like it was just yesterday that we were all sitting together at Christmas dinner enjoying each other’s company; knowing now it was all just a sham.”

Stay tune next week when you’ll hear the bubbly,  babbling bouncer say…”Hey big big dummy, let me hold a dime!”

Peace Out!

10 thoughts on “Snippet Sunday 1/19/14

  1. Ah, funerals… where you meet relatives you didn’t know you had and discover previously unknown sides of relatives you’ve known all your life — even the deceased.

  2. We’re all conditioned not to speak ill of the dead . . . Susan’s sister must be very concerned to ask that kind of question right over their mother’s body.

    This is a powerfully emotional snippet.

  3. Been there done that. Some of the families we think are fuctional turn out to be the most DISfunctional of all. Your scene shouts of personal experiences which although painful, are sometimes easiest to write.
    Well done!

Leave a Reply

