The Next Big Thing

From what I have been told by my good friend Maddie, “The Next Big Thing” is a blog post which is passed on to writers whom are either published authors, or up and coming authors; basically to answer questions about your book, how you got started etc. Maddie is on her second, third, fourth, I think fifth  book now; but who’s counting Maddie? 🙂

What I was instructed to do for this TNBT is to answer ten questions about my WIP, to give fellow bloggers and others a little more information about the genesis of it. So here we go. Drum roll please……….come on, I said drum roll please…………, drum roll please!!

Hit me one time!!

Here we go:

1. What is the working title of your book?

The working title when it is working is The Distorted Trail

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

I guess from seeing the last two presidential campaigns play out in a crazy way, I wanted to put a story together that really put a twist on a campaign.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

I’m guessing political thriller/psycho drama.

4. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I don’t know if there are any. I’m hoping not. Thats’ why mine IS the next great thing. lol

5. Which characters would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Well Jake the lead male I would want Jack Nicholson to play. I love Jacks characters in all his movies. And Nancy the lead female,  I would want Uma Thurman to play. She was great in Pulp Fiction.

6. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Hell I have to look that word up! 🙂 Ok, how about: Uncontrolled rage takes over the careers of two professionals leading them to a path of self-destruction.

7. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self -published for sure. Unless I win the lotto. lol I am pleased that a good friend of mine agreed to edit the book for me. I trust her judgement whole heartily. We both graduated from college the same year, her speciality english, mine history. What we did have in common though is we suffered thru one year of college spanish together lol I’m sending her the first chapter by the end of the week wool woop Thank you Abby Hinkle French for being the editor of this million seller lol

8. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m still writing!!

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Well, to be honest I just decided after messing around with a weird story, just to keep going with it and there you have it. I am from far a professional writer, don’t claim to be, don’t want to be…it’s seems like it would be to much work. lol

10. What is it about your book that might pique the readers interest?

The uniqueness of this story is that each chapter is written in two halves, one half written in the first persons POV of one character and the other half in another characters first persons POV. You just have to see it to believe it! lol

Just in case The Distorted Trail is not your thing, here are two other authors whose books might be. I’m tagging them to answer the same questions for next Wednesday.

Michelle Proulx and Richard Leonard

12 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Thanks for the nomination, Mike! I’ll have to whip up something for next week, I guess.
    Your novel sounds cool! Can’t say I’ve read any political thrillers but this is definitely unique.
    That Buddy Rich drum solo was awesome! Wish I could play drums like that. Wish I could play drums…

Leave a Reply

