A Route Canal Sonnet

My sweet granddaughter Kensie turned me on to sonnets. I never thought in a million years I’d be writing any. Since I’ve been in pain and currently am under some great meds, I decided WTF and did one for the heck of it. Here it is. Enjoy! 🙂

The Route Canal Sonnet

I seen you coming, the pain was a hint.

No secret, it was sure avoidable,

just like not eating fat would prevent the stent.

I should have used floss as my other tool.

Toothbrush, toothpaste, flossing seems so easy.

Proper use would have prevented this pain.

Now popping these pills makes me feel sleazy.

Ignorance is laughing, I’m crying in shame.

Sure, not my first, probably not my last.

I look at the clock. I sure need one now.

Just like the others, this is not bedfast.

The pain has sucked me dry, three more hours’ wow!

The route canal curse strikes at me again,

God I pray, take this pain away. Amen

6 thoughts on “A Route Canal Sonnet

  1. I’m sure not liking for your pain. I’m liking that you attempted – and wrote – a sonnet! Did you have that procedure done already? Is that why you’re on the meds? How soon before the pain abates? Tooth pain is some of the worst pain in the world. I think it’s because it’s so close to your brain.

      1. You have to wait a week! I’m kind of speechless. I’ve had a dentist come in on a Saturday afternoon to pull an evil tooth that was trying to kill me. I would have never made it a week with the pain. Pain pills tend to wear off before it’s time for the next dose. Glad you’re feeling better though.

Leave a Reply

