Yankeefied Chili

Yankeefied Chili

 

Born and raised in York, Pa; growing up and having chili almost twice a month was something that I got used to. I would suspect that it had a lot to do with the cost of making chili back in the late 1800’s, and not so much that it was tasty. That was a little age humor there. 🙂 However, it was very tasty; and I enjoyed it every time my father made it. The secret was not using the same ingredients every time, which allowed for a different flavor, though very tasty.

Wow, when I got to Texas they tried to burn my tongue with the chili they served down here. Texans, I love them, but they tried to pawn off heat for flavor. They insist that if you don’t have heat you don’t have chili. I do agree that a little warmth will make a good chili just a little better, except when you need to drink a gallon of water afterwards then it defeats the purpose.

Variety is the spice of life; so they say. Certain ingredients are standard in chili; i.e. meat, beans, onions, etc. So what can you do to make your chili stand out, and still be just a little different every time? You play blindfold bean isle walk!

Never heard of the game? Not many have. What you do, well, I wouldn’t recommend doing it quit like this, but I think you get my drift. When you go to get the beans for your chili, make a mad dash down the isle and grab six cans of beans with out looking at the label to see what you have. This makes for a very good surprise when you get home; I know from vast experience. And don’t be scared boys and girls, the chili always comes out just fine.

And if you get lucky enough to grab a can of beans with some jalapenos in them, then you get the little heat all those heat fanatics were wanting.

As a side note, the blindfold method will probably not be the wisest thing to do when you are selecting the meat for you chili…well hmmm let me think about that. Can you actually go wrong with using pork, or chicken in the chili; probably not. Hey hey, writing this article has allowed me to come up with a new style chili, “Blind Mans” chili! And I am not making fun of the blind here, so don’t get the panties tied in a knot. If you must look at the cans of beans or the types of meats, then do it. 🙂

Remember, and never forget; don’t sacrifice flavor for heat. That’s the best advice I can tell anyone that makes chili. If your friends that you make this fabulous chili for complain that it’s not hot enough, have some fresh peppers in a side bowl and tell them to go at it and enjoy.

Hope all who tries this recipe enjoys and I’m hoping for some feedback. Peace out from the Yankee in Texas.

Recipe

  1. 1 Large Slow Cooker
  2. 6 cans of assorted beans, 12 and 16 oz. size
  3. ½ onion
  4. ½ green pepper
  5. Large tomato
  6. 1 pound of ground beef
  7. 1 package of stew meat
  8. 1 package of chili powder
  9. Garlic salt, pepper, and Mrs. Dash to flavor

10. Secret ingredient…1/2 cup of Korean BBQ sauce from pampered chef.

Take the meat and brown it with half the onion you have, minced of course. Cut the tomato and green pepper into small pieces of the size you want. Remember this chili is all about YOU!

Now take all of the rest of the ingredients and throw them in the slow cooker and turn that bad boy on high and go shopping!

PS…that secret ingredient really gives it a unique flavor. If you can’t find a pampered chef dealer, I’ll help you. 🙂

PS, PS…you can change the meat out if you like 🙂

Mmmmm!
Enjoy
14 thoughts on “Yankeefied Chili

  1. What a fine lookin’ chili. I’m going to make my husband try the blind bean run in the grocery store and see what happens. 🙂 I have used Trader Vic’s chili recipe for years, and we love it every time. Hubby dries jalapenos and grinds them into dust, so I always add some jalapeno dust along with the chili powder. We get some heat, but not too much. Your recipe is different with the secret ingredient, and I may just try that this winter (after I try the salmon ;-)).

  2. I LOVE the bling bean run!!! I always do beans…..but usually just three kinds. AND I love to add green chilis for flavor, too. Stew meat???? Who’d a thunk it. Will have to try this! And keep trying to teach those Texans! 🙂

  3. mmmmm that sounds great! I love the line “they tried to pawn off heat for flavor. ” After 25+ years in CA, I’m am able to eat SOME heat, but you nailed it. Heat is not a substitute for flavor!!!!

      1. I’m a Hoosier living in hot chili country. I Yankeefy my Mexican food all the time! Thanks for the comment. I’ll be checking out your blog for more good reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

