Turtles…stay away!!

One of the wierdest phobias a person could have, I have. Yes, the fear of turtles!!! I don’t know how many people in the world have this crazy phobia that I have; and, I really don’t care. I have it, and that’s all that matters. πŸ™‚

I wasn’t born with the fear of turtles; It came about during a training TDY, or what would be called a temperary duty assignment that I went to when I was a young airmen in the Air Force. I went to Homestead AFB for water survival training for 3 days in I think April of 1979. Anyway, one of the things that we had to do was parasail from roughly 600 feet in the air and then release ourselves where we would glide down into Biscayne Bay (The freaking ocean).

Our instructors warned us not to wear shiny objects on our fingers ie…rings, watches, etc because they might attract baraccudas. Well Mr. Instructor Man, what about the freaking SEA TURTLE! You failed to warn me about them. When I landed in the water and was trying to get in my raft, out of no where I heard a shhhhrushhhhhh sound to my side and no more than 10 feet there looking me square in the eyes was this freaking monster.

Monster!!

Till this day, ANY size turtle scares the shit out of me. I spend some time with my step sons family and they have a pet turtles running around their yard and they just think it’s so funny that I run every time one of those monsters make its way onto the patio.

Little Monster!!

So, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Send me a crazy phobia story. Would love to hear about them.

16 thoughts on “Turtles…stay away!!

  1. Turtles, huh? Well…I fear most anything that flies or that I think is flying at me! Pretty entertaining for the neighbors when I’m working outside. πŸ™‚ My sis lived in York, PA and we loved our visits there in the summertime. Sure beat our OK heat!

    1. Wow what a small world! I grew up in York left there in 1978 when I graduated. Damn I’m old. Lol I traveled all over the world in the Air Force and retired here in Texas. I do miss the scenery there along with all my brothers. I try to go up there once a year, but didn’t make it this year. Hopefully in June. It’s ok to make your neighbors laugh lol that way it keeps them thinking. πŸ™‚ thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      1. My dad was Air Force, & my bro-in-law retired Air Force…..my thanks to you for serving β™₯. Well my neighbors get plenty of opportunities to laugh, that is for sure! πŸ™‚ We are headed to TX this weekend…San Antonio…..for a getaway. Thanks for the great posts!

  2. By the way, I just LOVE turtles:) I cant say the same for spiders though LOL Mike your roach comment was funny, but gave me chills, I can not be around then, they creep me out! even more then spiders!!!!

Leave a Reply

